I’m doing well “too”(1)

Jubril Gbolahan Adigun
6 min readApr 27, 2020

Initially, this was a 12-min read. I have then split it into two parts to help readers enjoy at their own pace. Look out for hyperlinked elements in this publication; you’d find them interesting.

I have learnt a lot from my parents, siblings and bigger family that life and success are what you make of them. Such is also, the impact on the people around us and the world. Even though life doesn’t always hand you roses, keeping strong family ties and values will keep you going.

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/proxy/EAAOKb8BBY2855o6OL67HDiZI0lupUUeoMWUYYpF3iL7elQFq-8YnBGymlOcUVRTydSbyk0Q5VxMSNwXsuR5T

A Nigerian comedian, Mr Macaroni has recently become a popular internet and social media sensation. He loosely uses the statement, “You are doing well” to ward off unsuspecting on-lookers when he has something sinister up his sleeves. He uses the same gimmick to trick potential preys into thinking he genuinely appreciates them. His skits are usually rife with hilarious slangs that leave viewers grinning, smiling or even laughing uncontrollably. Well, this story isn’t about him. I want to just borrow from his catch phrase and say to myself — I’m doing well.

Many times, more often than not, we beat ourselves up about not doing too good in life; I’m also part of you. This takes the better part of us and we may fail to really see how far we have gone. It seems we aren’t having enough of Joyce Meyer’s quote:

I may not be where I want to be, but thank God I am not where I used to be.

Every now and then, I get very inspired by those successful thought leaders, business experts, tech moguls, entertainment crooners and filthy rich millionaires and billionaires. One can’t help but ask, how do they do it? They come out to share stories of how they became what they are today. These stories culminate in biographies, citations and autobiographies. Many of these success personas are also known to be prolific writers and sporadic readers.

While those may be the world’s standard for success, I’d beg to differ that some of us are making our marks in our own little way. An old schoolmate of mine, in my secondary school graduation class’s whatsapp group wrote and I quote:

I think what I am saying is basically success shouldn’t be determined by completion of an action. It should be in stages - Zainab Otun

She believes that finding the courage to get an entrance form into the University is success; taking the entry exams — success; attending classes and finally graduating qualify as successes in their own right. To corroborate this stance, another wrote:

Success isn’t a “finality” it’s in stages.- Ifeoluwa Olatunbosun

Taking a lead from this, I would want my story to be heard, read, or said someday. If that’s the case, I may as well start documenting pieces of it now. And I totally agree with my old friends, without recognizing these little successes, we may end up believing we are just another head count from those that have walked the path of this world.

Bear in mind that I do not intend to bore you with my life’s history; you probably may not find it that interesting. However, I would like to share a bit of it and I would like you to be the judge if I’m doing well too.

I’d be another year older in September 2020, and sometimes, I feel I haven’t done enough for my age. But that’s just number, right? Stay with me, and continue to gather the pieces.

2015…

I graduated from the University with a bachelor of engineering honors degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering. In the same year, I proceeded to the one-year mandatory National Youth Service scheme in Rivers state, Nigeria. The state is in the southern part of the country. At the same time, I landed my first job in an Oil and gas EPCI (Engineering, Procurement, Construction and Installation) company in Lagos, Nigeria.

Early 2016…

I was in a dilemma because I then had to be traveling back and forth, mostly by road every other week or so just to keep both ends in place. For anyone who is familiar with the terrain in Nigeria or has some geography knowledge, they would know that this was a big deal. My health and safety were always on the line. While at my job, I was handling project management stuff, graphics, 3D laser survey and standard procedure documentation under two different managers essentially. I did it! General HSE, TBOSIET, UK HSEs, Fire Safety Risk Assessment certificates were some of my take-outs at the end of a year.

Seven months into my youth service, I had to relocate to a city nearby my work city to give myself some sanity — thanks to my brother, “Sugar Jay” who assisted me in this regard. I was relocated to Ogun state and resumed assignment in a public secondary school at Akute in Ojudu area afterwards. I tried so much; heaven knows it, to enrich the students with every resource available to me but, one of the senior staff wasn’t going to make my life bearable. I left the school and managed to get attached to another school. This time, it was a private secondary school but I was still very much concerned about my old school.

As a requirement, youth corps members are expected to join a community development service (CDS) initiative and I was lucky enough to be part of the Gender and Charity CDS. Prior to joining this group, it seemed the guys there weren’t at all bothered about doing anything. I asked around, talked to few of them and we were able to create a formidable group. I was to be made the president of the group for resuscitating the group, but I vehemently declined. As they were relentless on their request of me being the president, I proposed to be the admin officer responsible for all types of groundwork. This was just to boost the morale of the team and at least get someone to front as the president.

Long story short, we were able to run two successful outreach programs at the public school of my primary assignment. Two ladies were also very instrumental into making these exercises a success. I am still in constant reach with one of them and she’s doing very well. I wish the other lady and every one else in that group that participated one way or the other, the very best in their endeavors.

…Late 2016

Landed a job in one of the big 4s (KPMG, PwC, EY and Delloite). These guys are the best in the game. All through my recruitment process into the graduate trainee program, I had thought I would be able to choose my area of specialization. I was a bit mistaken. On the contrary, I was being processed for a role in the audit unit. What happened to me on my first day going to the job is story for another day. Anyway, I was ready to weather the storm and give it my best shot while seeking opportunities in tech within the firm. There’s more to this story, I tell you — from being an Engineer to being an Auditor, literally😉😉😉 . Life!!!

2017

In my audit job, I had to pass certain exams within and outside the firm to get promoted, remain at the same level or get kicked out altogether. The stakes were high, my life was taking a jab, it was a nerve-racking moment. Amid all of these, were early morning rush to work, sleeplessness, rush hour deliverables and sometimes, difficult-to-handle clients. It was difficult to have a life in this surreal state of affairs. I would get home very late at night and still be the first to leave the house the next morning.

Sometimes, days went by without me seeing the clear skies. Seeing the sun on some weekends was a big deal for me. I treasured those “almost” 48 hours of sanity — it was difficult though not to worry about the next five workdays coming ahead, perhaps plus the weekend; who knows? One thing that I however, enjoyed here was the opportunity to volunteer. We actually could get days off from work to pursue humanitarian endeavors. Talk about KPMG CSR Back2School. And even on my 24th birthday in September of that year, I participated in the P1N (Project1Nation) #trekforidps (internally displaced persons) campaign. But that’s not the end.

If you found the piece above interesting, kindly follow me on my journey:

Read on — I’m doing well “too” (2)

--

--

Jubril Gbolahan Adigun

Software, Systems and AI | Startup Entrepreneur | Computer Science Researcher in Quality Engineering